ICP’s Teen Academy offers a range of opportunities for teenagers to develop their knowledge of photography and storytelling. Courses include black-and-white and color darkroom, digital, and new media instruction, as well as the Imagemakers yearlong advanced program.

Teen Academy Imagemakers enables motivated high school juniors and seniors to advance their photography, writing, and public speaking skills while developing an awareness of the creative and professional possibilities in the field. This weekly after-school program provides teen photographers with guidance from some of New York’s best teaching artists, field trips to museums, galleries, and studios, college-prep workshops, pre-professional assignments, mentorship opportunities in the field, and full access to ICP’s facilities. This program is designed for students who are interested in pursuing photography in college and/or as a career. By the end of the year, students have created an extensive portfolio, including an artist’s statement and résumé. A selection of their best work is featured in this gallery exhibition.

Featured Artists

Theo Allgood, Siva Ambrose, Lillie Benkoil, Fiona Beswick, Cydney Blitzer, Sarah-Lisa Bord, Raven Callender, Oliver Campbell, Ava Ciosek, Wesley DeJesus, Livvy Ferrari, Natasha Fradkin, Katarzyna (Kathy) Gaweda, Sam Glass, Ruby Griffith, Rhys Hare, Isis Jannierre-Bates, Marilyn Kelly, Amelia Milne, Chelsea Monroe, Izzi Negrin, Andrew Noorily, Lula O’Donnell, Natan Oster, Sasha Perch, Nell Pittman, Saleena Ram, Paola Rivas, Tyler Roarty, Sarah Rodbell, Brigit Tejada, Matt Weinberger, Hanjing (Angel) Zheng

Opening Reception

Please join us for this exhibition’s opening reception on Wednesday, May 31 from 6 to 8 PM.

TOP IMAGE: © Theo Allgood

Special Thanks

Teen Academy Imagemakers is made possible with generous support from the Altman Foundation, William Randolph Hearst Foundation, Phillip and Edith Leonian Foundation, Keith Haring Foundation, The Norman and Heewon Cerk Gift Fund, Ravenel and Elizabeth Curry Foundation, The Chervenak-Nunnalle Foundation, Susan and Thomas Dunn, Stuart Z. Katz and Jane Martin, and by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.