ICP’s Teen Academy offers a range of opportunities for teenagers to develop their knowledge of photography and storytelling. Seasonal courses include black-and-white and color darkroom, digital photography, and new media, as well as the Imagemakers yearlong advanced program.

Teen Academy Imagemakers enables motivated high school juniors and seniors to advance their photography, writing, and public speaking skills while developing an awareness of the creative and professional possibilities in the field. This weekly after-school program provides teen photographers with guidance from some of New York’s best teaching artists, field trips to museums, galleries, and studios, college-prep workshops, pre-professional assignments, mentorship opportunities in the field, and full access to ICP’s facilities. This program is designed for students who are interested in pursuing photography in college and/or as a career. By the end of the year, students have created an extensive portfolio, including an artist’s statement and résumé. A selection of their best work is featured in this gallery exhibition.

Featured Artists

Labis (Harry) Bakalis, Seren Becker, Talula Benson-Stack, Andzelika Berestko, Kay Boyes, Nina Briggs, Luna Catalan, Nubia Celis-Etienne, Nicole Chow, Anaïs Connelly, Max Drury, Devin Friedrich, Benjamin Gale-Platt, Xiana Garcia, Brenda Garzon-Earthman, George Gilpin, Harrison Haft, Annika Heegaard, Maya Heredia, Kate Hollitscher, Sebastian Hutchinson, N'dei Innocent, Vivian Jackson, Amari (Mars) Jones, Lola Lafia, Sophie Nardi-Bart, Kimberly Ogungbe, Sonya Raytburg, Florence Schneider, Ellis Shapiro-Barnum, Darya Shauchenka, Mika Simoncelli, Shray Tirpathi, Ezra Tyler, Jae Byeok Yoon, and Matthew Zlatanic.

Opening Reception

Join us for an opening reception on Wednesday, May 30 from 6 to 8 PM. Presentation begins at 6:30 PM.

TOP IMAGE: © Nubia Celis-Etienne

Special Thanks

Teen Academy Imagemakers is made possible with generous support from the Phillip and Edith Leonian Foundation, the William Talbott Hillman Foundation, The Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation, The Norman and Heewon Cerk Gift Fund, The Chervenak-Nunnalle Foundation, Susan and Thomas Dunn, Stuart Z. Katz and Jane Martin, and by public funds from
the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.