ICP to Host First-Ever Virtual Infinity Awards Honoring Don McCullin, Hannah Reyes Morales, Nadine Ijewere, and the 1619 Project of the New York Times

36th Annual Infinity Awards Fundraising Event Takes Place Online at 7 PM EST on May 19
May 06, 2020
36th Annual Infinity Awards Fundraising Event Takes Place Online at 7 PM EST on May 19
Image: © Nadine Ijewere

The International Center of Photography (ICP), the leading museum and school dedicated to photography and visual culture, today announced its first-ever virtual Infinity Awards. The 36th annual ICP Infinity Awards will honor outstanding achievements in photography and visual arts. The event will be held online on the evening of Tuesday, May 19.

Hosted by WABC-TV anchor Sade Baderinwa, the virtual event is ICP’s largest fundraiser and benefits its full range of education and exhibition programs.

2020 Infinity Award Categories and Recipients:

New this year, all donations will be matched, dollar-for-dollar, by ICPs Board of Trustees, doubling the impact.

In collaboration with Creative Edge Parties, attendees will be able to order a contactless home-delivered meal the night of the gala with the option to donate up to 500 meals to New York City frontline healthcare workers to help #feedthefrontline. Orders can be placed here.

To attend the live event, media can RSVP to Rebecca Morrello, special events coordinator: rmorello@icp.org.

Since 1985, the Infinity Awards have recognized significant contributions and emerging talent in a wide range of fields that now encompass photojournalism, art, fashion photography, publishing, critical writing, and new media. Past recipients include Berenice Abbott; Lynsey Addario; Shahidul Alam; Richard Avedon; Ariella Azoulay; David Bailey; Alexandra Bell; Harry Benson;Maurice Berger; Amber Bracken; Henri Cartier-Bresson; Sophie Calle; Edmund Clark; Bruce Davidson; Roy DeCarava; Elliott Erwitt; Sir Harold Evans; Larry Fink; For Freedoms; Samuel Fosso; Robert Frank; LaToya Ruby Frazier; Adam Fuss; David Goldblatt; Paul Graham; David Guttenfelder; Mishka Henner; André Kertész; Natalie Keyssar; Steven Klein; William Klein; Karl Lagerfeld; Annie Leibovitz; Helen Levitt; Mary Ellen Mark; Ryan McGinley; Susan Meiselas; Duane Michals; Daidō Moriyama; Zanele Muholi; Shirin Neshat; Gordon Parks; Gilles Peress; Walid Raad; Eugene Richards; Sebastião Salgado; Malick Sidibé; Lorna Simpson; Cindy Sherman; Dayanita Singh; Zadie Smith; Juergen Teller; Peter Van Atgmael; and Ai Weiwei, among others. 

Co-Chairs of this year’s Infinity Awards are Marjorie Rosen, Michael A. Clinton, and Judith Bookbinder.

About the Infinity Honorees

Visit icp.org/infinity-awards for full bios and more information.

About ICP

The International Center of Photography is the world’s leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Cornell Capa founded ICP in 1974 to champion “concerned photography”—socially and politically minded images that can educate and change the world. Through our exhibitions, education programs, community outreach, and public programs, ICP offers an open forum for dialogue about the power of the image.

Sponsored by